Oscars 2020: Joaquin Phoenix wins best actor trophy, Renee Zellweger best actress

Oscars 2020: Joaquin Phoenix wins best actor trophy, Renee Zellweger best actress

NEW DELHI [Maha Media]: Hollywood star Joaquin Phoenix finally ended his dry run at the Oscars as he picked up the best actor trophy for his performance in  "Joker" at the 92nd Academy Awards ceremony at Dolby Theatre in Los Angles, United States yesterday.

Renee Zellweger won the best actress for her poignant portrayal of yesteryear actor-singer Judy Garland in Rupert Goold's “Judy”. Director Bong Joon Ho ed history by becoming the first Asian and South Korean filmmaker to bag the best director Oscar for his sensational class satire "Parasite".

Superstar Brad Pitt has won his maiden acting Oscar for his performance as stuntman Cliff Booth in Quentin Tarantino's Hollywood memory capsule "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood." Laura Dern won the best-supporting actress Oscar for "Marriage Story". "Toy Story 4" became the 10th Pixar Animation Studios project to take home the best-animated feature trophy at the Academy Awards. 


Here's the complete list of 2020 Oscar winners

Best Motion Picture

'Parasite' (Neon), Kwak Sin-ae and Bong Joon Ho, producers

Best Director

Bong Joon Ho, 'Parasite'

Best Female Actor

Renee Zellweger, 'Judy'

Best Male Actor

Joaquin Phoenix, 'Joker'

Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role

Laura Dern, 'Marriage Story'

Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role

Brad Pitt, 'Once Upon a Time in Hollywood'

Best Original Screenplay

'Parasite', Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-won

Best Adapted Screenplay

'Jojo Rabbit', Taika Waititi

Best Cinematography

'1917', Roger Deakins

Best Visual Effects

'1917', Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy

Best International Feature

'Parasite' (South Korea)

Best Film Editing

'Ford v Ferrari', Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker

Best Production Design

'Once Upon a Time in Hollywood', production design: Barbara Ling; set decoration: Nancy Haigh

Best Costume Design

'Little Women', Jacqueline Durran

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

'Bombshell, Kazu Hiro', Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker

Best Animated Feature Film

'Toy Story 4' (Pixar), Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera

Best Animated Short Film

'Hair Love', Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver

Best Sound Editing

'Ford v Ferrari', Donald Sylvester

Best Sound Mixing

'1917', Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson

Best Original Score

'Joker', Hildur Gudnadottir

Best Original Song

"(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again," 'Rocketman', music by Elton John; lyrics by Bernie Taupin

Best Documentary Feature

'American Factory' (Netflix), Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert

Best Documentary Short Subject

'Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You're a Girl)', Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva

Best Live-Action Short Film

'The Neighbors' Window', Marshall Curry

The 92nd edition of the Academy Awards went hostless for the second time and took place at the Dolby Theatres, Los Angeles, California.

Related News