Navratri 2020: Know the significance of the nine colours

Navratri 2020: Know the significance of the nine colours

The nine-day festival of Navratri is a few weeks away. With the arrival of the Mother Goddess, the auspicious Devi Paksha begins. And this year, owing to the Adhik Maas, the Shardiya Navratri has delayed by about a month. Usually, it takes place soon after Mahalaya Amavasya, but in 2020, it has been pushed by 31 days. Nonetheless, the festival shall usher in an atmosphere of divinity and serenity like always. And devotees of Goddess Durga shall look forward to it not only to keep a fast but also soak in the joys of the meaningful festival. One of the most significant aspects of the festivities is that different colours are associated with each of the nine days. People get dressed in the colour specific to each day to make the most of Navratri. 


Navratri 2020 colours with the significance of the dates








Oct 17



On the first day (Pratipada), devotees install the Kalash. This ritual is referred to as Kalash Sthapana or Ghatasthapana. On this day, the Shailputri form of Maa Durga is worshipped. Grey refers to the quality of the destruction of evil.

Oct 18



On the second day (Dwitiya), the unmarried form of the mother goddess, Brahmacharini, is worshipped. Orange symbolises tranquillity, brightness and knowledge.

Oct 19



On the third day (Tritiya), Maa Chandraghanta is worshipped. White represents peace, serenity, calm and purity.

Oct 20



On the fourth day (Chaturthi), the Kushmanda form of Maa Durga is worshipped. Red symbolises passion, auspiciousness as well as anger (that is required to uproot evil).

Oct 21

Royal Blue


On the fifth day (Panchami), devotees worship Skanda Mata, the mother of Lord Kartikeya. On this day, people shall wear royal blue, a colour that represents divine energy.

Oct 22



On the sixth day (Sashti), devotees shall pray to Goddess Katyayani. Yellow colour symbolises joy and cheerfulness

Oct 23



On the seventh day (Saptami), the Kalaratri form of Durga shall be worshipped. The colour green refers to the various aspects of Mother Nature and its nourishing qualities.

Oct 24

Peacock Green


On the eighth day (Ashtami), Maha Gauri is worshipped. The colour peacock green represents the desires and wishes that get fulfilled.

Oct 25



On the ninth day (Navami), the Siddhidhatri form of Goddess Durga is worshipped. The colour purple represents ambition, goal and energy


Related News